Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Declaration of Independence

On June 10th 1776, the delegate Richard Henry Lee of Virginia introduces the resolution, urging Congress to declare independence.

On June 11, 1776, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Roger Sherman and Robert R. Livingston appointed to a committee to draft a declaration of independence, which dissolved the political ties that had bound the American people to Great Britain.

The task writing the declaration was turned over to Thomas Jefferson in deference to his well known and unmatched literary talent.

John Adams and Benjamin Franklin reviewed Jefferson’s public draft and produced forty seven distinct amendments to it before the document was presented to the whole congress by the Committee on June 28th.

It was the actions of the British Parliament and the King of England to punish the ever rebellious colonist that eventually led to that magnificent document known as The Declaration of Independence and the creation of the United States of America.

Two sets of delegates met in the assembly room of the Pennsylvania Statehouse in Philadelphia and debated the two great documents that define the American political creed.

The first sets of delegates were members of the Continental Congress that approved the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776. A new nation was born, free and independent, the United States of America.

The second were the framers of the Federal Constitution that the great Convention of 1787 proposed to the American people on September 17, 1787.

Together, the Declaration and the Constitution are America’s founding documents.
Declaration of Independence
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

The most popular articles

Other posts

History | Smithsonian