Monday, January 12, 2015

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

United States president Dwight D. Eisenhower formed NASA on October 1, 1958. The National Aeronautics and Space Act was passed on July 29, 1958, disestablishing NASA’s predecessor, the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics.

This group has studied aircraft flight for more than 40 years. The National Aeronautics and Space Admi9nstartion (NASA) is the agency of the United States government that is responsible for the nations’ civilian space program and for aeronautics and aerospace research.

NASA started operational with four laboratories and 80 employees. NASA’s first agenda was human spaceflight and the possibility of safely sending a man into space and bringing him back to earth.
1961: NASA scientists with their calculation board
Eisenhower appointed the president of the Case Institute of Technology, T. Keith Glennan, as NASA’s first administrator, believing that Glennan could sway international opinion by using NASA to demonstrate American’s superior civilian scientific and technological capabilities.

Urged on by a pledge from President John F. Kennedy that the United States would put a man on the moon by the end of the decade, on July 20, 1969 the space program finally achieved their ultimate goal as Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin took the first steps in the moon and safely return them to earth.

In 1984, President Ronald Reagan approved the construction of Space Station Freedom, which was the first step in the planning and construction of what today is the International Space Station, also known as Space Station Alpha.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

The most popular articles

Other posts

History | Smithsonian